The reformed temple

118 ter avenue de la République

14800 DEAUVILLE

Built upon the initiative of the Société immobilière de Deauville, the reformed temple was inaugurated on July 20th, 1865. It is composed of a unique nave with five spans, preceded by a gabled tower-porch with a bell tower. Inspired by the Beuzeval temple (Calvados) built in 1862, this building with multiple architectural items was made by Desle-François Breney and Anatole Jal. The celebration of worship gathered the reformed community living in Deauville and Trouville, as well as some vacationers during the summer season. An act dating back to July 10th, 1866, formalizing the alienation of the building from the community, forced devotees to maintain it, but insufficient funds led to its progressive degradation.

Abandoned in 1896, it was transformed into a festival hall by architect Alexandre Buchard in 1898.
In 1921, it was enlarged with two side wings (kitchen and refreshment room to the left; cloakroom to the right) according to the plans established by Georges Madeline. The bell tower’s project, risking to collapse, was submitted in 1937 by brothers Delarue, architects. In 1950, this building was renovated by architect Marcel Germain, called by the municipality. He conceived the location, on the previous structure, of a neoclassical-style concrete façade, opening on an entrance hall with two concrete side stairs made by Trouville company.

Since the beginning of the XX century, the reformed worship is practiced in a building of Avenue de la République.

Salle des fêtes2